Hits: 0


Meher Baba

The higher bodies function either by impersonal and unconscious forces or by conscious forces. Kundalini is a latent power in the higher body. When awakened it
pierces through six chakras or functional centers and activates them. Without a master, awakening of the kundalini cannot take any one very far on the Path; and such indiscriminate or premature awakening is fraught with dangers of self-deception as well as misuse of powers. The kundalini enables man consciously to cross the lower planes and it ultimately merges into the universal cosmic power of which it is a part, and which also is at times described as kundalini. Ordinarily kundalini is the name for the power latent in the individualized soul.

The awakened kundalini cannot by itself take any one to the seventh plane. When awakened and directed under the guidance of some great yogi, it can give many rare
experiences which have both advantages and disadvantages. The important point is that the awakened kundalini is helpful only up to a certain degree, after which it cannot
ensure further progress. It cannot dispense with the need for the grace of a Perfect Master. (Beams from Meher Baba, pp. 14-15)

Kundalini is also known as the “Serpent Power” in Hindu Shastras. The word chakra is in sanskrit, and literally mean wheel, or a revolving disc. The chakras are called Power-Centres in man and their subtle locations are indicated by the physical organ which they correspond.

They are

Base of spine ( Moolaadhara)

Naval Chakra (Svaadhisthaan)

Spleen Chakra (Manipura)

Heart Chakra (Anaahata)

Throat Chakra (Vishuddha)

Between Eye and brows Chakra ( Aajana)

Top of the head Chakra ( Sahasraar)

Moolaadhara Chakra is the seat of Kundalini and after having been awakened in the first Chakra, it moves to the second Chakra and then to the third and so on. Each chakra confers power.